Free AI video generators: what is actually free (2026)
Most free AI video generators are free trials in practice: a few short clips a day or a one-time batch of credits, usually with a watermark and often without commercial rights. We read the free-plan terms of the main tools on 10 October 2026 and list what you actually get. Disclosure: we make AI Media Studio, and its video generation is paid.
Is there a completely free AI video generator?
- The largest daily allowances right now: Google Flow (50 credits a day, roughly 3 to 12 short clips outside peak hours), Dreamina (120 credits a day) and PixVerse (30 credits a day plus 60 once).
- Google Vids gives every Google account 6 clips a month at up to 1080p. Bing Video Creator gives 10 fast clips, then slow ones that take hours each.
- Pika, Luma, the Gemini app and Grok Imagine have no usable free video, Kling only runs occasional promotions, and Sora is gone.
- Free clips usually carry a watermark, and only a few free tiers clearly allow commercial use: Runway, Adobe Firefly and Canva.
- AI Media Studio has no free tier. Video and photo edits both need a paid plan from $19/month.
Free AI video tiers compared
Read on each vendor's own pricing, help or terms pages on 10 October 2026. Free allowances change often, so check the linked source before you rely on one. Where a vendor does not publish a number, we say so instead of repeating unofficial figures.
| Tool | What you get without paying | Watermark | Commercial use | Catch |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Google Flow | 50 credits a day, enough for roughly 3 to 12 Gemini Omni Flash clips of 4 to 10 seconds at 720p | Invisible SynthID; the visible mark can be switched off in most countries | Not stated | No video without a plan at peak hours (about 14:00 to 17:00 UTC), and one Google help page still says a paid plan is needed |
| Google Vids | 6 AI clips a month for personal Google accounts (shared with AI avatars), 3 to 10 seconds, up to 1080p | Invisible SynthID | Not stated | Desktop only; Google says the limits may change |
| YouTube Create | Vertical clips up to 10 seconds, quota not published | Digital watermark and AI label | Not stated | Mobile app in the US, Canada, India, Australia and New Zealand only, and still experimental |
| Microsoft Bing Video Creator | 10 fast clips, then standard clips that take hours each | Content Credentials; a visible mark is not stated | Unclear | Mobile app only, 8 seconds per clip; it launched on Sora, and Microsoft does not name the current model |
| Meta AI | A daily usage limit that Meta does not publish | Labelled as AI; a visible mark is not stated | Unclear | Animates an image rather than writing a scene from text, and is not available in every country |
| Dreamina (ByteDance) | 120 credits a day, usable for Seedance 2.0 video | Yes | Unclear | Model access and availability vary by region; Seedance in CapCut is for paid members |
| PixVerse | 60 credits once, plus 30 credits a day that expire at midnight UTC | Yes | No, outputs are for non-commercial use | Up to 540p and PixVerse's own models only |
| Adobe Firefly | A limited number of daily generations across image, video and audio (count not published) | Content Credentials; a visible mark is not stated | Yes for Firefly models; partner models such as Luma Ray are your responsibility | Adobe's own FAQ describes the allowance in two different ways |
| Canva | Up to 20 AI uses a month, shared across all AI tools; Image to Video makes 5-second clips without audio | Not stated | Yes, under Canva's AI Product Terms | The Veo-based video clip tool is not part of the Canva Free plan |
| Runway | 125 credits once, never refreshed (about 10 seconds of Gen-4.5) | Yes | Yes | The models available on the Free plan change often, and credits cannot be bought on Free |
| Hailuo AI | One-time welcome credits that expire after 3 days (amount not published) | Yes | No, rights are granted on paid plans | No standing daily allowance in the current terms |
| Vidu | Sign-up and daily login credits (amounts not published); the free model costs 4 credits per second at 540p | Yes | No, paid plans only | 10 reference uploads a month on the Free plan |
Where video costs money from the first clip
These tools are often listed as free AI video generators, but on 10 October 2026 they did not offer a usable free video allowance.
| Tool | What happens without paying | Cheapest way to get video |
|---|---|---|
| Google Gemini app | No video generation on the free plan | A Google AI plan, from $4.99/month in the US |
| Kling AI | No guaranteed free credits, only occasional promotions; free clips are watermarked and not for commercial use | A Kling subscription |
| Pika | The Free plan has 0 credits; you must buy a credit pack | Credit packs from $25 |
| Luma AI | No free plan on the pricing page; trial credits are mentioned but not quantified | Plus at $30/month |
| xAI Grok Imagine | Video is listed under the paid SuperGrok plan; free video was reportedly removed in March 2026 | SuperGrok |
| OpenAI Sora | Discontinued: the app closed on 26 April 2026 and the API on 24 September 2026 | Not available |
| AI Media Studio (our product) | No free tier: every clip and every photo edit needs a paid plan | Paid plans from $19/month, with several video models in one studio |
Free to run yourself: open-weight video models
If you have a strong GPU, these models cost nothing per clip and add no watermark. The price is hardware, setup time and electricity.
| Model | License | What you need | Watch out for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Wan 2.2 (Alibaba) | Apache 2.0; Alibaba claims no rights in your outputs | A 24 GB GPU for the 5B model at 720p; 80 GB for the 14B models | Output is 720p at most |
| LTX-2.5 (Lightricks) | Free for companies under $10M annual revenue; a paid license above that | At least 32 GB of GPU memory; 80 GB recommended | You must disclose that the content is machine-generated |
| HunyuanVideo 1.5 (Tencent) | Community license that excludes the EU, the UK and South Korea | At least 14 GB of GPU memory with offloading | Not a legal option if you are in the EU or the UK |
What free means on AI video plans
Every hosted video model runs on expensive GPUs, so a free tier is a capped sample rather than a free product. Check these points before you build a habit around one:
- Daily or one-time: daily credits come back every day, while one-time credits are gone after the first few clips.
- Watermark: a visible logo on the clip rules it out for client work and most ads.
- Commercial use: several tools allow it only on paid plans, so read the terms before you post an ad.
- Length and resolution: free clips are often a few seconds long and below 1080p.
- Queue: free jobs can wait behind paid ones; Bing's standard clips take hours, and Google Flow pauses free video at peak times.
- Account: almost every tool needs a sign-in, and Google adds an 18+ age check.
Which free option fits your clip
Pick by the job, not by the headline number:
- A few social clips a week: Google Flow or Dreamina, if a watermark or an invisible SynthID mark is acceptable.
- A clip for a slide or a document: Google Vids, which makes 1080p clips next to Google's video editor.
- Anything that might end up in an ad: Runway's one-time credits, Adobe Firefly or Canva, whose free terms allow commercial use (Firefly only for its own models).
- Animating a photo you already have: Canva's Image to Video (5 seconds, no audio) or Meta AI.
- Privacy or no usage caps: Wan 2.2 or LTX-2.5 on your own GPU, if it has 24 to 32 GB of memory.
Where AI Media Studio fits (our product)
AI Media Studio has no free video generation. Video runs on paid plans from $19/month, with Kling 3 Pro and Kling O3 Pro, Seedance 2.0 and Grok Imagine Video 1.5 in one studio. You can start from text or from your own photo, and the credit cost is shown before each clip. Downloads have no visible watermark, and paid plans include commercial use.
Photo edits need a paid plan too, so nothing in AI Media Studio is generated without paying. On a plan you can clean up a still and then animate it in the same studio, with the credit cost shown before each step.
If you need a few clips and can live with a watermark, one of the free tiers above is the better choice. AI Media Studio fits better when you want several video models side by side, start from your own photos, and need commercial use.
Want several video models in one place?
AI Media Studio plans start at $19/month: start from text or from your own photo, pick a video model, and see the credit cost before each clip.
Frequently asked questions
Is there a completely free AI video generator?
Not among the hosted tools we checked: every free tier is capped by credits, clips per month or queue time. The closest to unlimited are Bing Video Creator's standard mode, which has no stated cap but takes hours per clip, and open-weight models such as Wan 2.2 on your own GPU, where you pay for hardware instead.
Which free AI video generator has no watermark?
Google Flow lets you switch off its visible watermark in most countries, though an invisible SynthID mark always stays. Google Vids and Adobe Firefly do not mention a visible watermark on free clips but attach invisible provenance data, and Canva's help pages do not mention one. Runway, PixVerse, Dreamina, Hailuo AI, Vidu and Kling watermark free downloads.
Can I use videos from a free plan commercially?
Only a few free tiers allow it clearly: Runway, Adobe Firefly (for Firefly-model outputs) and Canva under its AI Product Terms. PixVerse limits free outputs to non-commercial use, and Kling, Hailuo AI and Vidu grant commercial rights only on paid plans. The terms of Google, Microsoft, Meta and Dreamina do not say clearly, so check them before you use a clip in an ad.
Do free AI video generators need a credit card?
Dreamina says no credit card is required, and Bing Video Creator only needs a personal Microsoft account. The other free tiers ask you to sign in, and their pages do not mention a card. Pika and Luma have no usable free plan, so there you pay before the first clip.
What happened to Sora?
OpenAI closed the Sora app and website on 26 April 2026 and removed the Sora 2 API on 24 September 2026. ChatGPT does not generate video. Bing Video Creator launched on Sora, and Microsoft does not say which model it uses now.
Is AI Media Studio free for video?
No. AI Media Studio has no free tier. Video needs a paid plan from $19/month, and so does every photo edit.