Best Canva Alternatives for AI Images, Photo Editing and Video (2026)
Canva is a design tool first: templates, layouts, brand kits and an AI layer on top. Its Magic Edit runs on Google's Nano Banana model, according to canva.com, so the edit model itself is not the weak point. People look elsewhere when they want more AI per month than Canva's allowance, a choice of models, AI video, or a photo-first editor without a design canvas. This roundup covers six tools, says what each does better than Canva, and lists the prices each vendor showed on its own page.
What AI does Canva Magic Edit use?
- Stay with Canva if you mainly design posts, slides and flyers and need a quick AI edit now and then. Magic Edit uses Google's Nano Banana; Canva Pro is US$144/year for one person.
- Adobe Firefly if you want Photoshop-grade editing plus partner models (Nano Banana, GPT Image, FLUX) under one Adobe plan, from US$9.99/month.
- Krea or OpenArt if you want many image and video models, LoRA or character training, and a lower entry price (Krea Basic $9/month, OpenArt Starter $14/month).
- Pixlr if you want a low-cost browser editor with text-instruction edits from US$2.49/month.
- Magnific (formerly Freepik) if you also want a stock library and unlimited generations on selected models.
- AI Media Studio (our product) if you want to upload a photo, describe the change and download, choosing between Muse Image, Nano Banana 2.1, Nano Banana Pro and GPT Image 2.5, with photo-to-video in the same app. It has no design templates.
Canva and six alternatives at a glance
Prices are list prices in USD from each vendor's page on October 11, 2026, monthly billing unless noted. Magnific showed USD to a US browser and EUR to a German browser on the same day.
| Tool | Built for | Entry paid plan | Edit a photo by typing | AI video | Commercial use (as the vendor states it) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Canva | Design: templates, layouts, brand kits | Pro US$144/year (one person) | Magic Edit (Nano Banana): click or brush an area, then type | Image to Video and video clips use the AI allowance | Not stated on the pricing page |
| Adobe Firefly | Generation and editing inside Adobe's apps | Standard US$9.99/month, 2,000 credits | Prompt to Edit with Adobe or partner models | Yes (Firefly Video Model and partner models, credits) | Firefly model outputs safe for commercial use; partner-model outputs are your call |
| Krea | Many models, real-time generation, LoRA training | Basic $9/month ($5 billed yearly), 5,000 units | Yes, with edit models such as Nano Banana | Yes; all video models from Pro ($35) | Commercial license on Basic and up |
| OpenArt | Many models, characters, story videos | Starter $14/month ($13 billed yearly), 4,000 credits | Image editing suite | Yes | Commercial use rights listed from Plus ($34/month) |
| Pixlr | Low-cost browser photo editor | Plus $2.49/month, 80 AI credits | Instruct Editor: 1, 3 or 5 credits per edit (Fast, Pro, Ultra) | Yes, AI videos on credits | Not stated on the pricing page |
| Magnific (formerly Freepik) | AI models plus 250M+ stock assets | Premium $20/month ($14.50 billed yearly) | Pro editing tools | Yes, incl. unlimited Kling 2.5 on Premium+ | Commercial AI license from Premium |
| AI Media Studio (ours) | Photo-first: upload, describe the change, download | Starter $19/month for 1,000 credits | Yes: Muse Image 2 credits, Nano Banana 2.1 9 at 1K, GPT Image 2.5 11, Nano Banana Pro 30 | Yes: Kling, Seedance, Grok Imagine; up to 15 s, 1080p | Commercial license on all paid plans; no watermark |
What Canva does well (and why it is still the default)
Canva is the easiest place to turn a photo into a finished design. It has 1.6M+ templates on the free plan and 3.6M+ on Pro, a large stock library, brand kits, scheduling, print and presentations. Its photo tools cover most everyday jobs: Magic Edit (which Canva says is powered by Google's Nano Banana model), Magic Eraser, Magic Grab, background removal and a background generator.
Canva's pricing page lists Magic Edit with the AI design tools that do not draw on the shared monthly AI allowance (fair use applies). Heavier tools do: the free plan gets up to 20 Standard or Premium AI uses a month, Pro up to 200 Premium AI uses or 20 Ultra AI uses, and Business twice that. If your edits are occasional and end up in a design, Canva is hard to beat on convenience.
When an alternative makes more sense
Look past Canva when one of these is the job you repeat most:
- You edit many photos and want to choose the model per edit (Nano Banana for one job, GPT Image for another) rather than one built-in editor.
- You want more AI generations per month than Canva's allowance, or credits you can buy in packs.
- You want image-to-video with named models such as Kling or Seedance and control over length and resolution.
- You want training on your own subject (LoRA), real-time generation or node workflows.
- You do not need templates at all and would rather upload, edit and download.
Where each alternative is better than AI Media Studio
AI Media Studio is our product, so here is where the others beat it:
- Canva: templates, layout, brand kits, scheduling and print. We have none of these.
- Adobe Firefly: Photoshop and Express in the bundle (Pro plan), Firefly models trained on licensed content, and promotional unlimited generations on selected models in the first year.
- Krea: real-time generation, LoRA training, node workflows, a $9 entry plan and lower per-image costs on most models.
- OpenArt: character consistency tools, story videos and many more models; lower per-image cost on its cheapest models.
- Pixlr: by far the lowest entry price, with text-instruction edits at 1 to 5 credits each.
- Magnific: stock library, audio generation and unlimited Nano Banana 2 on Premium+.
Where AI Media Studio fits
AI Media Studio is a web app for editing photos by describing the change. You upload a photo, type what to change, pick a model and download the result; there is no design canvas. An edit costs 2 credits on Muse Image, 9 on Nano Banana 2.1 at 1K, 11 on GPT Image 2.5 and 30 on Nano Banana Pro, which is $0.038 to $0.570 of the Starter plan's monthly price. The same app turns a still into a video of up to 15 seconds with Kling, Seedance or Grok Imagine.
Downloads carry no watermark, paid plans include a commercial license, and unused subscription credits roll over. AI Media Studio plans: Starter $19, Pro $49, Premium $99, Ultra $199 per month (USD, tax excluded), or ten months' price billed yearly, with 1,000, 4,000, 10,000 or 20,000 credits per month. Unused subscription credits roll over. One free edit after sign-up: one uploaded photo, edited with Muse Image. Everything else needs a paid plan.
The alternatives, one by one
Adobe Firefly
Adobe's generation and editing app, with partner models from Google, OpenAI and others
Standard US$9.99/month (2,000 credits); Pro US$19.99 (4,000); Pro Plus US$49.99 (10,000); Premium US$199.99 (50,000)
Pros
- Unlimited standard image features such as Generative Fill on paid plans
- Partner models in one place: Nano Banana Pro (40 credits), Nano Banana 2 (20 credits at 1K), GPT Image 2, FLUX.2
- Pro plan adds Photoshop on web and mobile and Adobe Express Premium
- Firefly models trained on licensed and public-domain content; Content Credentials attached
Cons
- Generative credits reset monthly and do not roll over
- Partner models and video draw on credits, and you are responsible for checking partner-model outputs for commercial use
Krea
Many image and video models plus real-time generation and LoRA training
Basic $9/month ($5 billed yearly, 5,000 units); Pro $35 ($21 billed yearly); Max $105 ($63 billed yearly)
Pros
- Includes Muse Image, Nano Banana 2.1 and Nano Banana Pro among dozens of models
- Real-time generation, LoRA training, node workflows
- Commercial license on Basic and up
Cons
- Basic only includes selected video models
- Per-clip costs for Kling and Veo are not listed on the pricing page
OpenArt
Many models with character, story and editing tools
Starter $14/month ($13 billed yearly, 4,000 credits); Plus $34 ($27); Pro $56 ($44); Wonder $240 ($175)
Pros
- Access to 100+ image, video and audio models
- Watermark-free output on every listed plan
- Up to about 4,000 images a month on Starter, on its cheapest models
Cons
- Commercial use rights are listed from Plus ($34/month) up, not on the Starter card
- Per-model credit costs are not listed on the pricing page
Pixlr
A low-cost browser photo editor with AI credits
Plus $2.49/month (80 AI credits); Premium $9.99 (1,000 credits); Ultra from $24.99; about 20% less billed yearly
Pros
- Lowest entry price in this list
- Instruct Editor edits a photo from a typed instruction at 1, 3 or 5 credits
- Classic layer-based editor alongside the AI tools
Cons
- Subscription credits reset at renewal rather than rolling over
- Model names behind the Fast, Pro and Ultra tiers are not stated on the pricing page
Magnific (formerly Freepik)
AI image, video and audio models plus a 250M+ stock library
Premium $20/month ($14.50 billed yearly); Premium+ $45 ($33.75 billed yearly); Pro Starter $110 ($82.50 billed yearly); US prices, VAT excluded
Pros
- Unlimited Nano Banana 2 and Kling 2.5 on Premium+
- Stock photos, vectors and video, plus music, voice and sound effects
- Commercial AI license from Premium
Cons
- Mix of unlimited and credit-priced models takes planning
- Stock library is part of the price even if you only need AI edits
AI Media Studio
Our productUpload a photo, describe the change, download; plus photo-to-video
Starter $19/month for 1,000 credits to Ultra $199/month for 20,000 credits; $190/year billed yearly for Starter
Pros
- Choose the model per edit: Muse Image, Nano Banana 2.1, Nano Banana Pro or GPT Image 2.5
- Studio tasks for background, cutout, portrait, restore and restyle at 1K, 2K or 4K
- No watermark, commercial license on paid plans, credits that roll over
Cons
- Our own product: judge this entry accordingly
- No templates, layouts or brand kits; not a design tool
- Higher listed per-image cost than Krea and Pixlr, and than OpenArt's cheapest models
- Web app only; no mobile app
Edit a photo by describing the change
Upload a photo, type what to change, pick Muse Image, Nano Banana or GPT Image, and download without a watermark. Plans from $19/month; unused credits roll over.
Frequently asked questions
What AI does Canva Magic Edit use?
Canva's AI photo editor page says Magic Edit is powered by Google's Nano Banana model. You click an element or brush over an area, then type what you want to change.
What is the best Canva alternative for AI images?
It depends on the job. Adobe Firefly for editing inside Adobe's apps with partner models, Krea or OpenArt for many models and training on your own images, Pixlr for the lowest price, Magnific for stock plus AI, and AI Media Studio (our product) for photo-first editing by text with a choice of four image models and photo-to-video. For templates and layout, Canva itself is still the best fit.
Is there a site like Canva but better for AI photo and video?
For AI video, Krea, OpenArt, Magnific and AI Media Studio all offer image-to-video with named models such as Kling and Seedance. None of them matches Canva's templates. Pick by whether you need design layouts (Canva) or more control over AI models (the others).
Is there a free Canva alternative for AI editing?
Canva has a free plan with up to 20 Standard or Premium AI uses a month, Adobe Firefly offers limited daily generations without a plan, and Krea lists a $0 plan with 100 units a day. AI Media Studio is a paid product: One free edit after sign-up: one uploaded photo, edited with Muse Image. Everything else needs a paid plan. Paid plans start at $19/month.
How much does Canva Pro cost?
On October 11, 2026, Canva's pricing page showed Pro at US$144/year for one person and Business at US$250/year per person, excluding tax. Pro includes up to 200 Premium AI uses or up to 20 Ultra AI uses a month.